12 Teams, 8 Cities, 1 Goal: Copa América

The 2015 Copa América is only a month away! This summer’s tournament will be hosted in Chile, with 12 teams all fighting to be crowned champion of South America.

Though this competition won’t get as much television/media coverage as the World Cup did last year, a host of big names like Lionel Messi, Neymar, Sergio Aguero, Alexis Sanchez, Gonzalo Higuaín, Carlos Tevez, James Rodriguez, and Luis Suarez will still be on show. By the time the Copa kicks off in June, each of these players will be coming off the back of amazing seasons with their respective club teams – which should make for a very lively tournament this time around.

As far as predictions go, it’s going to be tough to pick a winner, with many solid teams like Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay (current title holder), Colombia and Chile (hosts) having very strong claims. I’m not anticipating any major shocks either, I really don’t see an underdog lifting the trophy this summer (ha! would love to be proved wrong).

In essence, I’m looking forward to lots of goals, flair, and electrifying games throughout the competition. Overall, the Copa América promises to be a thrilling contest!

**Edit: Luis Suarez is banned from the competition following his ‘biting incident’ at last year’s World Cup in Brazil.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s